Jackass South Carolina Congressman Wilson Apologizes to President Obama

Twitter is especially good for this sort of instant update.

September 9, 2009

Wilson apologizes: ‘I let my emotions get the best of me’
Posted: September 9th, 2009 10:23 PM ET

WASHINGTON (CNN) — GOP Rep. Joe Wilson of South Carolina issued a statement Wednesday night apologizing for his outburst during President Obama’s speech to Congress:

“This evening I let my emotions get the best of me when listening to the President’s remarks regarding the coverage of illegal immigrants in the health care bill. While I disagree with the President’s statement, my comments were inappropriate and regrettable. I extend sincere apologies to the President for this lack of civility.”

However . . . an apology is far too little too late. His conduct was beyond outrageous and there should be Congressional consequences; an official reprimand at the very least. Think whatever he wishes of the man; he owes respect – – let alone common civility – – to the office of the President of the United States.

Wilson aside, it was good to see Obama cowboy up and take on the health care debate.

Leave a Reply

